What a weekend!!

The weekend has been as evenful as the weather – sun and rainbows to horizontal wind and rain!! Yesterday I was quite teary as I drove down to Wellington – while I was looking forward to seeing the girls, crafting and dinner, I remembered so many things about our early dating days, which led to other memories I hadn’t thought about in ages. And even though Keith and I didn’t do flowers and gifts for anniversaries (or Valentines) we really did take special time to celebrate each other more than normal.

By the time I got to Wellington, the day was looking brighter. We had fun at Broni’s workshop – learned to make luminaries, coordinating bows, crackers, cards and tags, and the decorated candles were all gorgeous. And so much fun. And Broni and her friends are so accepting of my awkward moments. I think our Jaimee could end up being a seriously creative woman like the rest of us – she enjoyed herself too.

Dinner at Chris and Johns was delightful. I do like Chris – such a pragmatist for a non Capricorn. Great red wine to go with perfect steaks, and the music and conversation was just what the doctor ordered. We love you guys!!

A slow start to the day (ala red wine) saw a good drive home in disgusting weather, but the cat didn’t tell me off when I got in the door for once. I did the first serious piece of NLP work with a client this arvo since before Keith died – and I forgot everything except to be an NLP Practitioner (master) so that was awesome.

Off to Magical Maria’s for ironing, time with her family and another superb dinner. She has even provided dinner for tomorrow night. While her young teenage men-to-be are pushing the boundaries, its good to see them so full of life. Life seems so tough during the teenage years, and it wont be till they look back that they’ll realise it’s worth the effort to grow. Pity we’re not all precognisant, or maybe its useful we’re not. But if I had known the outcome for Keith and I when we first met, and then chose to love each other, I wouldn’t change my mind. He gave me more than I ever dreamed of, made me happier than I thought possible. And that is worth every moment of difficult challenges, sadness, pain and loss.

Be happy, love more. Honestly, it really does make life wonderful. xxxx

About keithandkarren

Supporting each other with Love
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a weekend!!

  1. Louisa says:

    Karren, thank you so much for the memories of Keith that you sent to Auckland for us to share this weekend. Some were already familiar memories, some brought familiar memories back, and some were Keith as we hadn’t seen him before – Keith … mountaineering?? I know his cousin climbed but I didn’t think it was Keith’s sort of “exercise” (he used to tell us he got enough of a workout whenever he took the GS for a spin, heavy old thing she was)!!

    The card was lovely and took pride of place in front of the computer. Cris had an excellent array of photos, with yours and many others, and it’s wonderful to look back and think happy thoughts. xox

  2. Chris Tibbotts says:

    Having you over for dinner and wines with us was a pleasure, we were glad to have you join us with the girls. A most interesting night that we really enjoyed.Not to mention the vodka shots a little later on. I quite like the pragmatist thing…quite a change from my usual flippant wee self. Must do it again soon……But we are happy that you enjoyed the evening 🙂

Leave a comment